Many Uses for Rosemary

Gallery

I have a beautiful Rosemary bush in my garden that is just growing so fast this spring. I love to use the herb when cooking but I wanted to find more ways to use it since I have so much! While researching I found out that rosemary repels mosquitoes. What a great natural way to get those bugs away. I think I’m going to plant a few more in pots so I can move them around the patio furniture for the summer when entertaining. And it’s such a pretty plant to decorate with.

What I did yesterday with my rosemary was make Rosemary infused olive oil. I had everything here at home so it was super easy. I just used 3 springs of Rosemary, 3/4 cup of olive oil and an empty olive oil jar I saved.

I washed the rosemary and patted dry then stuffed in into the clean and dry jar. Next I poured 3/4 cup of oil over it and put it in the refrigerator.  I read it’s good to keep for a week or 2 in there before using to get the full flavor of the Rosemary.

When it’s ready I could use it on salads, for dipping bread or drizzle over pasta. Can’t wait to use it. This is also a fun gift to make for a foodie friend.

One other great use for the rosemary plant is using the thick stems as grilling skewers. This plant’s stems get very sturdy and are really easy to spear veggies and meat. You can also use it as a fancy toothpick for sandwiches and for pinning food together on the grill. Remove the leaves and dry them for later use.

This looks like a perfect summer addition to our BBQs.

4 responses »

  1. thanks for this post! Since I don’t grow rosemary, I had to buy a package at the grocery store. After using about one sprig of it, I wasn’t sure what to do with the rest…now I have some ideas

Leave a Reply

