Aside

This was a fun project with my daughter this week. She loves her scrambled egg in the morning so we go through quite a bit of egg cartons. I usually just recycle these but found a fun way to reuse them. We decided to make another bird feeder for the garden. My kids and I love to watch the birds eat while we play outside.

So I cut the top/lid of the carton off and had my daughter decorate it with stickers. I think maybe coloring it might work better since the stickers were having a hard time sticking. But she had fun none the less. Next we cut 2 pieces of twine to wrap around both sides to hold it up steady. We then filled it up with bird seed and my husband hung it up outside for us.

Every time my 2.5 -year-old daughter saw birds, while we were out doing errands the next day, she told them to “Come to my house to eat bird food.” It was the cutest. When we got home we played outside and took pictures of a visitor. Looks like squirrels haven’t found it yet, since it isn’t on the ground yet.

A girl friend of mine also sent me a picture of how she recently used an egg carton to organize her jewelry. This is a great way to actually see the jewelry we forget we have! She cut the carton to fit her jewelry drawer. Great organization idea!

Fun re-uses with egg cartons

Leave a Reply

