Aside

I love everything about wine. I love wine tasting, the smell, the vineyards and even the empty bottles.  There are so many fun things to do with recycled wine bottles.

One thing we do is the easiest, we recycle.  Grandpa actually takes them to a recycling center and gets cash for them along with other glass and plastic bottles and we add every cent to the kid’s savings acct. We have been doing this since my daughter was born in 2009 and she actually has more money in her savings then we have in ours. Not that that’s hard.  Two kids are expensive!

My second favorite thing to do with empty wine glasses is to make lights out of them. My close friend Gina (SassyCrafts on facebook) does this and gave me one a while back as a gift. It made the best night light in the kitchen for making my daughter’s bottles in the middle of the night. I don’t like to turn on the bright kitchen light and wake anyone up if I don’t have to.  These can also be such great hostess gifts. Lots of us will be heading to someone’s house this season for a beautiful dinner, why not bring a wine light as a gift and or center piece?  There are so many variations of lights you can make. I recommend getting the shortest smallest lights, not over 30, since the bottles can get hot to the touch.  Also buy extra small strands right after Christmas when everything is on clearance. You can make these wine lights all year round.

          

Just recently I found my third favorite use for them. A friend of ours is getting married and they are using empty wine bottles as all the flower center pieces for their wedding.  Or you can use them for your holiday dinner coming up! Throw in some shorter beer bottles to mix it up as well. The pictures show how colorful, beautiful and eclectic it can be. I even got to use the last of my wild flowers of the season from our back yard. I love this look!  I wish I had done this at my wedding 5 years ago.  What a great way to reuse! I think it’s good luck for the couple to reuse at a wedding, right!?

I LOVE Wine

Leave a Reply

