Reusing those broken crayons

Image

When you have small children you know what I’m talking about when I say “Please pick up those broken crayons. They are everywhere!”  No matter how tidy you are, these broken crayons always sneak in with the other toys. This time I’m gathering them up and reusing them. Does anyone really like coloring with broken ugly crayons?  I’ve wanted to do this project to Holland’s excess crayons for a while. It’s Time to bake them in the muffin tin.  Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes until they are liquified.

Crayons look so fun to use when they are swirled with different colors and fun shapes. Kids love to color with these funny crayons. I loved coloring with my daughter with these as well.

Before I bake these old broken crayons down I’m going to make stained glass leaves.  All you do is iron some of the crayon shavings between wax paper.  I saw this craft online and wanted to make fall leaves with Holland. Looks like stained glass when hung on the windows. So pretty!  Both of these crafts I really didn’t do WITH my daughter, she’s only 2 ½.  But she did supervise and suggest colors. She’ll be a good boss one day.  HahaPrint a leaf out, trace with a sharpie and cut.

Best part is none of this cost me anything!  Grab a wire hanger that you’d be recycling anyways, and build a mobile with the wax leaves and string. You can make a decoration to pull out every autumn with the kids. Now we’re reusing memories!

4 responses »

  1. How fun! I had a gallon sized ziplock bag filled with crayons that I donated to the school…I’ll have to start saving up again.

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Crayons for our Preschool Class | repurposingmom

Leave a Reply

